Skip to content

effacer.

I want to invent some way of erasure, some clean means of not a cruel destroying, but a blanking out and clearing out and getting rid and removing, or of creating space, and nothingness.

If I were an artist I would be an artist of emptiness only, of barren galleries and blank crevasses; if I were an architect I would buy buildings only to raze them, to put up nothing in their place; if I were I writer I would publish books that were not just blank but pageless; if I were a musician I would be mute. The world feels too full already, and yet everyone seems to be seeking means for more novelty, more energy, and more.

I seek instead for the lacuna. I could gracefully erase, or be erased, what a blessing that would be. Nothing can be undone, nothing, and this is horrible and fascinating and oh, thank God, a truth.

5 Comments Post a comment
  1. Sounds serious. I prescribe Walt Whitman.

    May 15, 2010
  2. Good suggestion from Dave. Maybe Szymborska too, for some black humor about both life and poetry. I do know what you mean about the world already feeling too full, but so much of it is mere noise; the world needs people like you, Siona, and whatever you add to it is a positive thing.

    May 15, 2010
  3. Dave: Despair can be a celebration too, I imagine. But I will find a copy.

    Beautiful beth: Thank you. I wish I could take away from the world, instead of add to it, somehow, but perhaps all creation involves a movement into the new, and perhaps there is spaciousness to be found there. I’m not sure.

    May 16, 2010
  4. This is – like your other writings – beautiful. It is a way of expressing the use of non-attachment that I’ve never heard before. It’s zen-like and crystal clear.
    Inspiring. Thank you.

    January 8, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Opposite of erasure | Via Negativa

Leave a Reply

