Skip to content

plongée.

The other night I dreamt I was sitting in a small boat on a vast and glass-still sea. It was night, and boat had a single beacon on it–a red pulsing light on the prow.

I came to see that the beacon was not a light, but a heart, then, slowly, realized that the heart was my own. I moved forward, anxious, to take it back.

As I did, the boat rocked, and the glowing object fell (plunk!) into the water, sending an infinity of silvery ripples across the blackness.

After a moment’s hesitation, my dream-self dove after, terrified of losing this
one essential thing. I swam down after the still-pulsing beacon, following the light into the welcoming black depths, but as I grew close, the beating heart turned into a gulping fish–red and bright–and, with a flick of its tail, swam away from me, deeper, until I lost sight.

I have no idea what, if anything, this means, but it was beautiful, and it was somehow, strangely, reassuring.

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. What an amazing dream. I want to think about it…no idea, right off, what it could mean, but it doesn’t seem malign – maybe it simply and beautifully illustrated the way you fearlessly “follow your heart,” Siona.

    December 7, 2010
  2. Gosh wow! Gorgeous.

    December 7, 2010
  3. Wow, that’s amazing. What a dream. You must be thinking and thinking about it.

    December 8, 2010

Leave a Reply

