Skip to content

noël.

.

I love Christmas.

I love Christmas. I can’t help it. To me it’s the holiday that best encapsulates my unshakable basic attitude toward the world, ringed as it is with a wide-eyed sense of anticipation and child-like wonder. I love its insanity. I love the insensible monster of a myth it involves, and I love the absurd beauty of the rituals. I love the light-spangled streets and artful shop windows, and I love the excuse of gift-giving and gatherings. I love the phrasing of it–a poignant warm spark in the midst of winter–and I love the crazy Messianic history. I love the nativity scenes, and I love even the ugly costs of commerce and expenditure, expectation and stress.

Or perhaps, above all, it’s just that I just love the way it stands as a schism in the everyday–this beast of a holiday that blunders like some white-furred Yeti through the country, rattling up the ordinary and driving everyone indoors to huddle with their families to wait until normalcy descends again.

(I am a better partaker than I am an organizer, though, or better suited to marveling than manufacturing. So this year, as so many before, I played happy guest to more than a few warm and inimitable celebrations. This year, as so many before, I felt blessed.)

So I am glad that this holiday fades into winter, rather than disappears. The ending is not too abrupt; vacations stretch and the approaching New Year holds open the door to wonder, and the trees of the city stay sparkling and lit. And I am glad, too, to be home now, wrapped in a new woolen scarf, grateful for the celebrations and waiting, quietly, for the final days of a dying year.

5 Comments Post a comment
  1. I love that you love it… makes it more loveable for me. I don’t love it, but neither do I dislike it… I suppose I just don’t feel it like I used to, and so don’t pay too much attention. Storyless story, perhaps? This was the first year I didn’t gift my sweetie, or he me… not because we couldn’t, but because we prefer… “just because” gifting… I didn’t know how I would feel, but in the end, I felt just fine. Grateful with you for this dying year, celebrating now…

    December 28, 2010
  2. I’ll second that sentiment.

    It’s the magical time of the year that sustains me through the long winter.

    Judging from the weight I gain, that might even be literally true, but it’s hard to resist a Christmas cookie.

    December 28, 2010
  3. Yes! Lots of bah humbug out there about Christmas, so your post is refreshing. Hope you continue to enjoy the holidays, and a happy new year to you and yours!

    December 29, 2010
  4. I loved reading about how much you love it, it reads so beautifully you can just feel the warmth in the descriptions beautiful and vivid writing that engages, feels all so Christmasy!

    December 30, 2010
  5. Wonderful. I wonder if I could ever come to feel that way about Christmas? To me, it’s overwhelmingly the time when I disappoint everybody, when everybody most wants me to be things that I’m not (gregarious, voluble, graceful). I.e., it’s always all about me, all the time, in the worst of ways :-)

    January 1, 2011

Leave a Reply

